Sketching: Inspiration

I study Industrial and Fashion Design in college. And although I’m still on the very beginning of it (it’s been only a year), I already have some classes on draping -which is, if you don’t know, the mechanisms to build a piece of clothing directly on a mannequin’s body-.

The semester is nearly ending, so it comes the time for the final works. And, for this class’ work, I must create an outfit based on a song. Thinking how I could bring the ideia the closest possible to lingerie, I chose a song about a showgirl.

SKETCH1

I’ve loved the “Costello Music” album for quite a while, and the pin-up illustrations, by Sam Hadley, were responsible for the first time I fell in love for the vintage aesthetic. So, ok, it was the perfect song and the perfect excuse to do lingerie-inspired clothing. I had to check out for pictures related to the sensations this song causes on me, which would be some teasing, something like a cute stripper, very sassy and naughty but with a bit of a fake innocence.

I really like the music video for this song, as well, because it’s full of girls and inspirations. And one of them, that passes very quickly through the camera sometimes, was the starting point for my search for styles. Here are some pictures I found that illustrated perfectly what I wanted.

Playful Promises has this "frilly knickers", which is a style I love.
Playful Promises has this “frilly knickers”, which is a style I love.
Chantal Thomass creates beautiful things, and this is one I really loved, inspired me a lot.
Chantal Thomass creates beautiful things, and this is one I really loved, inspired me a lot.

So, as I had to create things with the techniques taught in class, I chose a simple corset (probably with no structure, since I don’t know how to do it. But if I find out in a few weeks, maybe…) and a mini mini skirt. I wish I could make a short, but it wasn’t part of the things we learnt, so i had to choose the skirt. And frills. I love frills, they seem easy to make (or maybe buy, if I find in the colors I want) and apply in the skirt and corset.

I found this picture on tumblr, don't know the source. But the colors are exactly what I wanted.
I found this picture on tumblr, don’t know the source. But the colors are exactly what I wanted.
Angela Friedman's Ruffled panties in silk are absolutely lovely. I want this aesthetic and this much frills!
Angela Friedman’s Ruffled panties in silk are absolutely lovely. I want this aesthetic and this much frills!

After a lot of doo doo doo, doo doo doo of the song in my head, plenty of sketching and asking friends about how do they think it looks, I finally came to a final drawing. At least that’s what I think so, I still have a few weeks so I can change it if I feel like doing it. But, for now, I like it, and proudly present to you my Chelsea Dagger lingerie-inspired final work’s sketch!

I'm still learning how to work with watercolor, but I like it a lot!
I’m still learning how to work with watercolor, but I like it a lot!

So… what do you think!? I would love to hear feedback!

Sketching: Inspiration

11 thoughts on “Sketching: Inspiration

  1. Mari says:

    Seus desenhos têm realmente melhorado a cada dia! Ficou lindo e quero ver pronto.. Vai postar as etapas ou somente o trabalho final?

  2. Love your sketch as well as all those frilly pants 🙂 I don’t know the song you talk about, but will search later.
    What materials you will use for your knickers & corset? Laces or some silks and satin? Or maybe mix of both?

    1. Thank you, Mira! If you click on the link I put on the beginning of the text, you will find a very nice video on youtube!

      I don’t know yet, but since I’m not very keen on using delicate materials yet, I might go for easy fabrics (maybe some nice cotton) and use some kind of satin for the details and frills, since they are easier to work with! I absolutely love lace, so if I find some within the colors I like, I might add into the skirt!

  3. The sketch is absolutely adorable. I’ve always been jealous of those with a knack for drawing fashion sketches, as I think they are just lovely. I’ve also been lusting after ruffled panties lately (so not me, but I don’t even care!) so I am a big fan of your look.

    xx
    Lindsay
    http://thatjenesaisquoi.com

    1. Thanks a lot, Lindsay! I’ve always loved drawing, but wasn’t very good at it. When I decided to study fashion I started to try sketching a lot. I’m still not the best but I’m starting to like my sketches 🙂
      And well, ruffled panties are so lovely! Even if they are not your style, you gotta love to shake the ruffles in front of te mirror! 🙂

  4. Tá lindo seu desenho, Mano! Sei que o foco era a lingerie mas o que mais achei fofo foram as pernas hahah! E o blog tá uma delicinha de ver, to aqui fuçando e lendo tudo hehe. Beijos!

Leave a Reply

