What bra should you wear? – A introduction to bra styles

It’s not the first time it happens. The question “what bra would be better for my body type?” is, unfortunately, commonly asked to everyone that works in the lingerie area. The answer is pretty simple: you should be wearing any type of bra that fits you properly and makes you comfortable. 

ImageHowever, I have the impression that some women just don’t know the difference between the types of bras, and this is what they are trying to know when asking about the right thing for their bodies. Certainly, each body is different from the next (and notice that I didn’t say type of body because bodies should not be categorized, each one is unique) and each woman may prefer one type of bra because it shapes and fits in a way that she thinks is the best.

So, to begin with, I must make some considerations. First, these are styles and they vary from brand to brand, from size to size. What is best for one woman may not be exactly what other wants, and what works in one brand may not be what you love on the other brand. Second, there isn’t a better way to find out what looks and feels best on your unique and beautiful body than to try a lot of bras.

And, if you are brazilian (since I am and I know some of my friends read my articles): please don’t buy the bras without cup measuring. If you are looking for a bra that actually fits you, don’t buy the “40”, “42”, “44” sizes. Some stores like Hope or Loungerie already make bras with cup measuring, so try to go there and remember to check for yourself if the bra fits, even if the saleswoman said so. Never forget: cups exactly around the breasts, not over it + back not running up pr going loose + front part must stand really against your skin, not far from it.

That said, I will present to my girls who don’t know the difference, some bra styles in a small guide full of images (because I really think they work better the words, in this case). If you are already a lingerie expert, this probably won’t say much, but is you are lost between the lights and details of a lingerie store, it can be helpful. I hope that with these information I provide, bra shopping becomes easier to all of you who keep asking “what bra should I wear?”.

Balconette Bra

This one by la Lilouche $125
This one by la Lilouche $125

Lower in the front, this bra lifts the breasts and is nice for wearing under tops which are low in the front. It works pretty well for small busted women (but with some nice support, it can work for full busted as well). I really enjoy the way my (small) breasts look on this type of bra, with or without padding.

The Cindy bra, by Agent Provocateur, is another nice example of a balconette bra, in net.
The Cindy bra, by Agent Provocateur, is another nice example of a balconette bra, in net.

 

Plunge or Push up Bra

pushup
The classic Victoria’s secret push up and it’s extreme lfiting.

This is one a lot of women love. With lots of patting, it increases the cup size and makes your boobs look bigger. However, some of them look pretty fake, in my opinion, and this should be noticed since I know some women don’t like the looks. Even though, I really like the way a natural plunge looks on my cleavage.

Another push up, by Victoria's Secret PINK.
Another push up, by Victoria’s Secret PINK.

Soft Cup Bra

Majo Rey Lolita soft cup bra is beautiful and seems to work nicely for small breasts.
Majo Rey Lolita soft cup bra is beautiful and seems to work nicely for small breasts.

Super comfortable, these bras offer very little or no support. But they often offer you great looks, as well. I’d recommend this style for women who don’t  mind going out braless or with no support. It’s mostly used by small busted women. I would guess that it’s uncomfortable for big-breasted girls to spend a whole working day without support (but it’s just a guess, since I am not one).

Fleur of England Berry Kiss boudoir bra. I love the lace and the color!
Fleur of England Berry Kiss boudoir bra. I love the lace and the color!

T Shirt Bra

Ellen Macpherson Bare and Bold contour bra would look perfect under a t shirt!
Ellen Macpherson Bare and Bold contour bra would look perfect under a t shirt!

These are a must for the everyday. The T shirt bras are made to wear under… t shirts! Because they are smooth, the outerwear fabrics stand perfectly over the moulded cups, making the bra, well… invisible. I would reccomend it for every woman who need a bra for the everyday, specially in a tone that matches their skin. And well fitted, of course!

Simone Perele's caressence 3D is a t shirt with padding.
Simone Perele’s caressence 3D is a t shirt with padding.

Multiway and Strapless

Another famour Victoria's Secret style, the multiway bra can be worn in tons of different ways.
Another famour Victoria’s Secret style, the multiway bra can be worn in tons of different ways.

very usefull, the multiway bras have detachable straps so that you can choose how you are about to wear them. very handy when wearing different outerwear. And you can have it strapless, which is very nice as well. Don’t forget that the strapless bra must be a little tighter so that it doesn’t run down!

The Little Bra Company's Sascha bra. Beautiful and handy!
The Little Bra Company’s Sascha bra. Beautiful and handy!

 

Would you like to know about any other bra style?

I made a little compilation about the most famous styles for that the ones who have doubts. Tell me if you like it and if it helped!

 

 

What bra should you wear? – A introduction to bra styles

4 thoughts on “What bra should you wear? – A introduction to bra styles

  1. Well, so now I realize why I had never found a bra that fits me well: I never looked for the cup measuring! But you know, looking for bras at our brazilian department stores is such a hard work. For now I will start searching for the ones with my cup measuring, and also try the “bracelet bra” because I find it pretty cute. The ‘plush up’ model was always my favourite ones.

    1. The push up has been my favourite, as well! You should really stop looking in brazilian departament stores, because they not measure in the right way, the cup is always B and you don’t really know if yours is really this one. Try to go to Loungerie or Hope and get yorself measured! 🙂

  2. Another lovely article. I just love your style of writing, Manoela and enjoy a lot reading your posts.
    In the past I always wore push-up bras because I’m rather flat chest lady, haha. But since I got first AP set (‘Jean’) I changed my mind and since that day no push-ups in my drawer! I love soft bras especially during warm months. I tried also balconette bra and bardot bra few times but somehow doesn’t work for me. Shame, because I like how they looks.
    Best
    M

    1. Thank you, lovely!
      I know how you feel, I am rather flat chested as well! I love a little plunge, maybe someday I change my mind. But I like the balconette style, it looks beautiful on me!
      Soft bras are really nice in warm weather, I agree!

Leave a Reply

